Musings on Reasons & Motivation

The sub-title to this blog is ramblings & musings, and I certainly do plenty of the former, so here is a dose of the latter.

I had one of those surreal-seeming experiences, in getting fan mail. Having fans is weird, in a wonderful sort of way.

I had a conversation with a (IRL) friend the other day about my motivations in writing. I have always written, and loved it, but since 3024, the reasons have less to do with me and more to do with you, my dear reader, and with where I want my own life and career to be, i.e., writing as my sole profession. But, as I pointed out to him, that doesn’t mean it isn’t me, or that I have ‘sold out’, as it were. I have written about this is particular before, and it holds true- I write because reading has always brought me more joy than nearly anything else in the world, and telling stories has become a part of my being.

Because Paris (via E Cathrine Tobler)

Getting to give that joy to someone is a privilege beyond compare.

It’s not why I do it, for praise or adoration (I will certainly accept such, however), but it is amazing when it happens. There is so much that has happened in the last year-and-change that sometimes I stop and reflect on them and wonder if they’re really happening (case in point: I have been trading gchat messages with one of my favorite authors while writing this blog post).

If I was writing for just me, none of this would see the light of day. I’ll never forget that night, coming home from a job I hated with every fiber of my being, dead tired, stressed out of my mind, and realizing something had to change. I sat down to write and decided that this time, it wasn’t for me, it was for everyone else. I was going to sell it, I was going to be successful at it, and I wasn’t going to do what so many people seem to do as they approach thirty years of age, and give up on their dreams.

So, to you, dear, dear reader- thank you. Thank you for letting me dream. Thank you for flattering me more than an egomaniac like I should be. More than anything, if you enjoy reading these dreams I’ve put to paper, thank you for that.

DESR

2 thoughts on “Musings on Reasons & Motivation

  1. Katie Cross says:

    When I was in college, I read a paragraph out of a writing book for my English 111 class that said, ‘You have to write for an audience, or else you’ll never have hope of being a good writer.’ It was the first time in my life I had ever comprehended writing for someone other than myself to read, and it was an awkward, uncomfortable thought. I had been writing for 15 years without an audience, and I didn’t want one.

    It took about 6-7 years for me to really come out of that shell, but once I started gearing my writing towards an actual audience, it made all the difference in the world!

Leave a Reply

