The Anti-Amazon Experiment

As I announced in my Nerds Feather post this month, I pulled 3024AD: Short Stories Series One from Amazon. It’s a move I’ve been contemplating for a while now, for a variety of reasons. It all started when Lindsey pointed me to this article, pointing out that there are exactly zero reasons to link to Amazon. I read it and went, basically, ‘Yeah!’, but still found myself linking to Amazon in promo stuff.

Because Wyrd

Well, no more. I pulled it because, in short, I don’t like the way Amazon does things. I want to support bookstores and e-publishers that don’t screw over literally everyone else in the process. Can it be done? It’s something of a long shot, since Amazon dominates the market, and the casual, everyday reader certainly doesn’t care what isn’t available on Kindle.

So why do it? Because I have to see if it can be done. Maybe it’s a moon shot, but that’s usually about my aim, so why not? If it doesn’t work, I can always go back, hopefully with some new demand for my work. And maybe it will work, and send the message that Amazon is just as susceptible to changes in publishing as the large publishing houses- putting more power in the hands of authors.

So how do I do it? Emphasis on those being left out in the cold by Amazon’s world conquest- independent booksellers. Many are thriving, and Kobo is, at least to some extent, supporting them. So I’ll invest more resources in print copies and seek out partnerships with various brick-and-mortar stores (know of one? Let me know! deanfortythree at gmail). I’ve mentioned it before, but in the coming months, I want to get myself out there, in person, in those stores much more, in the form of readings. We’ll see how it works.

Here goes nothing.

DESR

4 thoughts on “The Anti-Amazon Experiment

  1. Barney says:

    I hope this works. My wife runs a small publishing company. Authors demand that their books be available through Amazon, but Amazon absolutely screws the small supplier, so that my wife’s company loses money on many sales through Amazon. Amazon sets up arbitrary rules (around delivery of stock from the warehouse, etc) and then “fines” suppliers who don’t (or can’t) meet their demands.

    However, I am conflicted about this, because I buy a lot of books through Amazon, in print and on Kindle.

Leave a Reply

