MMR: I’m Back!

I hope you enjoyed the interviews last week! If you missed them, SC Barrus, EC Tobler and Megan Paasch all contributed. Thanks to them for letting me take a break from blogging.

I have a new post up over at Nerds Feather, talking about the damage Amazon does to the literary and bookstore community, and how indie authors can circumvent that.

If you want to help spread the word about my books with a few quick clicks, your votes on these GoodReads lists would be much appreciated.

Also, 3024AD is $2.99 for the month of July, so if you don’t have a copy yet, make with the clicky over to the right.

I wonder if I would still type it backwards every damn time if I had named it 3042AD.

I did a reading with S.C. Barrus on Saturday at the Pioneer Cafe in North Bent, basically kitty corner to the cafe from Twin Peaks. It was an absolute blast, and I think he took video, so I’ll share that as soon as I can. Everyone there was really cool, so thank you if you were among them. The reception to my reading was fantastic and heartening. It’s growing slowly, but that every new reader seems to fall in love with my work gives me a lot of confidence for the future. So, to all you readers, thank you (to those of you who haven’t yet, get on it!).

Me @ The Pioneer Cafe

This is a couple weeks old (fourteen years in internet time), but for authors, this post over at Insatiable Booksluts is a must-read. Basically, don’t be spammy. For those of us who don’t want to fill out social streams with hashtag-riddled ads, it’s a fine line to try to walk. You don’t want to spam, but you want people to know you have a book out. I try to limit my self-promo to what can be filed under ‘content’, i.e., something your readers will want to know (like the price of the book dropping, etc)- and then not telling them every five damn seconds. In any case, a great read, and if I ever get spammy, feel free to call me on it.

EtA: This spam thing is seriously out of control. I have recently joined a few scifi forums, with the basic thought of putting a link in my sig and, ya know, interacting with people. Every post has at least one post from a person who does nothing but link their book, and there are several threads from people saying BUY MY BOOK- and that is their only post on the forum. Dear lord.

Leave a Reply

