Monday Morning Randomness

Some linkage and other fun stuff to get your week started:

I told sj of Book Snobbery that I kinda fought the urge to link to every post she writes, because her blog is a must read, but here are two posts you need to read:

Don’t tell her what to read.

She shares my hatred for Peter Jackson’s LotR/Hobbit. Seriously, every time I hear about that damn movie or some stupid gif pops up in my Tumblr, I die inside.

I have a new Adventure in Indie Publishing up over at Nerds Feather, which is primarily occupied with a review of Planks by SC Harrison.

It is mostly occupied with that review because I don’t feel like wading into the sh*tstorm that my good friend E. Cathrine Tobler started with her resignation from the SFWA due to their wildly inappropriate columns and sexist comments. I think it’s been debated enough in enough media outlets that anything I add would be of little consequence. However, I will say, if someone feels discriminated against and has the gumption to stand up and you send them hate mail… You suck. Seriously.

We should instead focus on the fact that she has a new book coming out next month, Rings of Anubis: Gold & Glass, and I hear it’s really good.

sj has to read it twice.

In the self-promotion theater, I am humbled, grateful and a little overwhelmed by how positive reviews have been for 3024AD. Many thanks to all of you who review and recommend it. As a huge book geek, it’s a great feeling to know I provided people with a book they enjoyed, if that makes sense.

Couple o’ Updates from things that happened today:

If you are running a Kickstarter, have a plan. Actually, have several plans- if it is funded, if it is not, if it is overfunded and if it is way overfunded. Don’t be this guy.

And then this load, from Good Ereader (via The Passive Voice), saying that “self-published authors are ruining literature”. OK *deep breath* *rubs temples*. First off, no, they are not. Literature is just fine, thank you very much. What you are saying they are ruining is a distribution platform and online bookstores. And to that, I agree. I have harped on this for a long time (see: Writing as a Business, Quality Control). Self-published authors should not just publish an unpolished, unfinished piece of crap.

But guess what? They’re going to.

But if you want to speak to literature, I counter that the mass-produced garbage of Stephanie Meyer and EL James do far more to ruin literature than someone living out the dream of finishing a novel and taking advantage of the ease of the options that are out there.

And if you don’t want to read any of the piles of crap crowding the Kindle store? If it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and sh*ts like a duck, guess what? It probably is. Also: Many of these self-published people who aren’t putting in time and effort to have their work edited or have solid cover art designed aren’t putting in the time and effort to put it on, say, Kobo. Just sayin’.

On final point: this is a hole traditional publishing has put themselves and us, as readers, in, but offering less and less money to the authors, not supporting them and being completely risk-averse. So, the fault is hardly in the stars, my friend.

18 thoughts on “Monday Morning Randomness

  1. sj says:

    ‘kay, post is finished and published and once I get lunch fixed for the kids, I’m working on a playlist to rid myself of your earworms.

Leave a Reply

