Role Reversal

The last thing I wrote for 3024AD: Short Stories Series One was the ‘about the author’ bit. It struck me that in this age of social media, in a book that will be primarily distributed electronically, that this might be a bit superfluous. Most people will learn more about me from my twitter than they will from a couple paragraphs that say, essentially, that I went to school to be a mechanical engineer and that I kinda hate it.

So I wrote that and threw in a link to my twitter.

This is what you need to know about me.

This is what you need to know about me.

This, in turn, got me thinking that- at least right now- it is more likely that someone is buying my book because they follow me on twitter than they are following me because they bought my book. It used to be the only real glimpse you got in to an the life of an author was via those couple paragraphs at the end of their book and the occasional interview. At this point in my career, I have done more interviews than I ever read with any contemporary author (not saying mine are widely read, just that they’re much more readily available now).

For example, I love John Scalzi. I think he’s one of the best authors around, and I adore his work. But, thanks to the magic of the interwebs and his long-running blog (since before they were called blogs), it’s easy to get to know him. He’s also incredibly interactive on Twitter, so it’s easy to ask him a question and he usually responds. Ten years ago, you couldn’t call up your favorite author and ask him a random question, unless you wanted a lot of silly legal hassle.

Likewise, my friend Matt recommended Seven Wonders to me (by Adam Christopher) and since I’ve followed him on Twitter far longer than I’ve read his books, I really hear him in the book, and I’ll probably skip the about the author part as well.

This is, of course, to say nothing of Amazon Author Pages, GoodReads, etc. where all that information is even more accessible.

Maybe about the author should come first. I guess it already does.

One thought on “Role Reversal

  1. Pingback: deanfortythree

Leave a Reply

