Monday Morning Randomness

I wrapped up a ton of editing 3024AD: Series One this weekend, and should be 100% by the end of this week. Then it will get formatted and then review copies will start to go out. If you know of review sites/blogs (or scifi sites) that should get a copy (or if you want to review it) email me (deanfortythree@gmail.com) and I will make sure it gets to the right people. I’ll talk in a separate post about what formats it will be available in, etc.

I hope you’ve been reading my Adventures in Indie Publishing columns over at Nerds Feather, because they are truly the apex of human achievement. OK, maybe not. But you should read them anyway, and if you are an indie author and want ME to review your book, you should check out the guidelines. The post for March will focus on hybrid publishers, so if you either have experience with a indie hybrid, work for one, are one, etc, I want to talk to you. If you’re interested, shoot me an email.

If you haven’t yet, you really need to go back Fireside: Year Two on Kickstarter. It has eight days to go, and if it gets funded, I have a special surprise. So, yeah, get on that.

Aside from Fireside and a select few other projects, I continue to be disillusioned with the quality of publishing projects on Kickstarter. Games, comics and other areas have tons of cool, unique ideas. The publishing category seems bereft of quality or imagination. I’ve beaten that horse pretty hard, but authors seem unwilling or unable to invest in themselves. Projects in other categories have a ton of front end work that can’t possibly be free, while authors seem to finish a manuscript (in some cases, not even that) and think that’s good enough. I’ll address this more later, but I wonder why so few indie/self-pubbed authors treat it like a business and more like they are owed something.

Leave a Reply

