The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

My friend SC Harrison blackmailed tapped me to do this. If you are (apparently) a female between 13-21, you should go read her book. If you are not, you should go buy it anyway and not read it. But you should support so she doesn’t have to listen to engineers all day, because engineers are demanding, moody jerks. Or so I hear. Go buy her book.

Where was I? Ah, yes, The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. With the Series One release imminent, let’s talk about the first 3024 novel.

What is the working title of your book?

3024AD: The Corporate Wars

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Lots of places. I always wondered what it would be like if corporations armed themselves and actually fought over resources, and what would have to happen for that to take place. It actually has before, in a way, with the India Trading Company having huge sway within the British Empire and being an army in its own right. This quite naturally (in my mind, anyway) leads to a time when humanity is starting to colonize other worlds- making it perfectly conceivable that private interests would play the largest role in this.

In fact, we have already seen the early signs of this (not militarization, obviously). Space flight has moved into the private sector, and within the next decade or so, governments will be nearly completely out of it. This has been needed for years- since the 1980’s, really- and will lead to corporate interests dominating the next phase of space exploration. From there, it’s not a huge leap to what I describe above.

What genre does your book fall under?

Science Fiction (hard)

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Corporations with armies fight for control in an era of space colonization.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I haven’t the faintest idea. Sarah will want Matt Damon in some role, though.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

It’s a long story.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I wrote the first first draft right after college in a month. Then I hated it and scrapped it, but I loved the story and concept of corporations fighting and having armies and how they would deal with the governments and… Deeeeeep breath. Yeah, I like the story. The idea for the 3024 universe comes from this novel and what is currently making up the bulk of the Series Two storyline- and I thought, ‘why not put them in the same universe?’

That doesn’t really answer the question. About a year.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I really hate doing this; it seems so presumptuous. But since you asked… Early returns have generated a couple Asimov comparisons, which is more flattering than I have words for. Particularly the Foundation series. Star Wars seems and obvious, if easy, choice, but without the force and whatnot. Also my main character doesn’t whine as much a Luke.

There are also parallels to Robert Lewis Stevenson, I wanted it to be that kind of swashbuckling adventure, except, ya know, in space.

Also I wanted to say ‘swashbuckling’.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

For as much as I like the story, the characters are pretty great as well. I think readers will enjoy them and connect with them very well, and their own stories add tremendous depth to the overall plot.

I am apparently supposed to tag other peoples after I do this. I don’t have anyone in mind, so if you’re an author, feel free to grab these questions and do your own thing and say I told you to.

DESR

Leave a Reply

