Kickstarter Journal: What’s Next

With the Kickstarter all wrapped up, what comes next? I have several options as it sits now:

Kickstarter 2.0: This is the most obvious route. Fix the things I talked about earlier and reboot. However, there are some downsides to this. First, the ‘layer’ thing I talked about- I would rather build a larger following/reader base prior to launching another Kickstarter campaign rather than try to do it during the Kickstarter.  I want enough people past that first layer that I’m not sweating it out again. Also, this would delay the actual, you know, release by at least a month, if not two. There is also the fact that if retooled and relaunched even right away, the end of the campaign would be right around Black Friday, and if I have to compete with peoples holiday dollars, I don’t see coming out on top (especially as people are also looking at traveling and time off).

Traditional Publishing: Interesting side note: It says a lot about the state of publishing that plan B is traditional publishing. Main point: I have been told by several people (and not just people that I bribe to say nice things) that 3024AD has the potential to be much more than just another scifi series. I may put some feelers out (Note: not a knock on anyone who self-publishes; just has a wider reach).

Just do it myself: The only noticeable change would be that Pete Pachoumis wouldn’t be doing the cover. If I do this, it actually speeds up the release, which is a good thing, right? I just have to wrap up the editing, take care of the cover and format it and it’s good to go.

So those are the options. I’ll have it sorted out by the end of the day.

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: Thank you!

-DESR

Leave a Reply

