Kickstarter Journal: Day 14

*UPDATE* The Kickstarter is $30 away from $1,000. So as an incentive to get there, whoever pushes us over $1,000 will have a main character in Series Two named for them. So go pledge $30 now!

*END OF UPDATE*

Two weeks in, and were doing ok. It could be better, though, so go back now if you like science fiction (or just good fiction; I really try to make it more about the story than spaceships). If you have already backed (or are tapped out; I know how it is), you can really help by telling other people about it- the best help is telling people directly an email, an @ in a tweet, is much more effective. Thanks in advance for helping!

Ok, commercial’s over. Let’s talk about where I screwed up. *GASP* I know, right? It happens. It happened, I think, in a big way with the video. Go watch it. Watch it, because Sara did a bang-up job on that animation (on short notice, more on that in a second), but don’t listen, because I sound like an idiot. Worse, I sound like some dude I grabbed off the street to narrate my video. Do you know how many people have told me “You don’t sound excited”? Two, actually, which isn’t a staggering number, but… I don’t, it’s true. For the life of me, I can’t be the Sham-wow guy, and maybe that’s ok- hopefully my content makes up for it.

But how do you make a killer video, especially if you’re like me and can’t muster real-sounding fake excitement?

The biggest mistake I made was when I actually did the video- It wasn’t last minute, but it was certainly last hour. Start early. Like, way early. Write a script, and have someone review it. This will give you a sense of timing, which ends up being a pretty huge factor.

If at all possible, have it done professionally (I need more AV geek friends). Poor sound quality bugs the heck out of me. This is certainly an out of pocket expense, but you can build it into your campaign as long as it’s not a huge percentage. Especially if you have a high-dollar project (very generally, over $10,000), having a professionally done video will help a lot. If your goal is on the lower end (<$5,000), people will understand that you are keeping expenses down- but a nice video will be that much more impressive.

Obviously, a video is not the end-all, be-all of your project. A project I have been watching (not mentioning names) has one of the better videos I have seen- great sound, good editing, direct in its message- and the project is a flop due to their reward structure and lack of otherwise compelling content. On the flipside, a recently successful (and considerably over-funded) book was literally the author sitting at his kitchen table talking into the camera.

A video is just a piece of your campaign, but it is often the first look people get at your project, so if it’s done well, it will get people paying attention.

-DESR

Leave a Reply

