Story Notes: The Bounty

I am introducing a new feature (since this blog is somewhat new, I guess they are all new features), Story Notes, which will accompany all the shots I put up on the 3024 AD site.  I thought it would be fun to have you all peek into my writing/thought process (such as it is), and give some background info that didn’t belong in the story proper.

The Bounty introduces Jack Drake, who plays a significant role in the 3024 universe.  I don’t want to give to much away now, but it’s certainly a name you will read again.  I really enjoy Jack as a character, and we only get a glimpse of his personality in this short.  He certainly has something of the ‘mercenary with a heart of gold’ quality to him, but that’s not who I wanted him to be (or who he is).  More on that later, but he is fun to write and (to me, anyway) very natural to write for.

Another first appearance is the GalSpan (Galactic Spanning) corporation, albeit from a distance.  GalSpan is a massive, multi-faceted corporation, who have interests in nearly every industry across the galaxy.  Think of them as Starbucks, Apple, Wal-Mart and big oil all rolled into one.  Sort of like the East India Trading Company used to be.  Like Jack, they play a major role in what is to come (incidentally, this story does not take place in the year 3024, but rather near the end of 3023).

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the story!  Another new one will be up by Friday at the latest!

One thought on “Story Notes: The Bounty

Leave a Reply

